Schengen Agreement Purpose

This means that Schengen Member States that were not part of the EU have few formally binding options to influence the development and development of Schengen rules; their options are effectively reduced to approval or exit from the agreement. However, consultations are being held with the countries concerned prior to the adoption of certain new provisions. [14] Although these measures are already present in the EU, the new agreement establishes national contact points for the coordination of these activities, which could facilitate their increased use. This agreement is not part of Schengen as such or of the Schengen acquis. However, like the original Schengen Agreement, cooperation between Schengen III countries must be extended to the whole of the EU. On 14 June 1985, France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands met near the small Schengen city in Luxembourg to sign the Schengen Agreement. The agreement called for the abolition of all passport and other controls between participating countries and the creation of a single external border. However, the provisions of the agreement were not implemented until later. At the time, the Schengen area was seen as a kind of laboratory that tested the creation of a common passport area before Schengen was extended to the whole of the EU. Although not a member of the EU, Switzerland, because of its position at the heart of Europe, maintains strong economic and social relations with many Schengen states and is part of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) with Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein (other third countries within the Schengen area). Switzerland became an integral part of the Schengen area after signing the agreement on 26 October 2004 and beginning to implement it on 12 December 2008. Differences of opinion between Member States led to a deadlock in the abolition of border controls within the Community, but in 1985 five of the ten Member States at the time – Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany – signed an agreement on the phasing out of border controls. The agreement was signed on the princess Marie-Astrid boat in Moselle, near the city of Schengen,[5] where the territories of France, Germany and Luxembourg meet.

Three of the signatories, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, had already abolished common border controls under the Benelux Economic Union. [Citation required] The agreement would establish Immigration Liaison Officers to advise countries on all new information on illegal immigration and provide advice on the recognition of fraudulent documents. It would also require joint measures for the return of illegal migrants, including joint deportation flights. The Benelux countries (Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) had already set up a common passport area in 1970.